Pay close attention at night

I don’t know why it works this way for my kids, but they always seem to want to chat at night. Very conveniently at bedtime. Right when I want to disengage and just get a breather, they want to talk. So many of my most profound, intense, deep, emotional heart conversations with my kids have been after 8:00pm. I wish I could say I always recognize these moments. Sometimes I’m just too tired and selfish that I let the moment pass, hoping they’ll re-initiate in the morning. I deeply regret this. Sometimes I pay attention and realize how precious the moment is and there is no greater gift that hearing the hearts of my sweet babes.

The other night this happened with Ryder. With my husband sick in bed, I was flying solo at bedtime (well mostly solo- thank you Rachel for your help!). I had just finished getting Scottie down when I heard Ryder’s cry in the hall. I was SO exhausted. He was so upset. He was feeling really down on himself. He was sad. He didn’t really want to talk much about it, which I could have said “sounds like a plan to me, I love you, goodnight.” But something in me (thank you, Jesus) said to dig a little deeper.

I took him to my room and asked a few questions. He said he was laying in bed thinking “I’m just stupid. I’m a dumb boy.” Immediately I thanked God for this moment. That I get to be the one to hear his heart and to speak the truth over him. I asked him who would want him to think these things. With tears in his eyes he immediately said “the dumb snake.” I reminded him that Satan is a liar. He is the snake who comes to tell us wrong things about ourselves and about God. So we talked about what God says about him. Who God says he is. That God never lies. That God adores him. That he is special. No matter what….because he is Gods prince. Forever. Nothing can change that truth. Ryder believed it. (Take that, dumb snake.)

We had the sweetest conversation & prayer time. One that I will store up in my heart as sacred.

So mamas & dads, pay close attention. Pay attention when it’s about that time…. right when you might wanna just unplug and relax. Usually these conversations are unplanned. They can’t be forced or rushed. Take the time. Maybe it’s the time your kiddo will open up their little heart and let you in. There really is no greater honor & joy.

Xoxo, Em

Leave a comment